Monday, December 21, 2015

Release Blitz, Review & Giveaway: The Marriage Contract (The O’Malley #1) by Katee Robert

When Teague O’ Malley and Callista Sheridan are ordered to marry they soon realize that there is much more at stake than money. Fans of Jackie Ashenden’s Make You and Kresley Cole’s The Master, Unexpected, will devour the super steamy and fast paced first book, The Marriage Contract in the O’ Malley series by NYT and USA Today Bestselling Author Katee Robert.

Title: The Marriage Contract 
Series: The O'Malley #1
Author: Katee Robert
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: December 22nd, 2015 (digital: June 2nd, 2015)
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing - Forever


Teague O’Malley hates pretty much everything associated with his family’s name. And when his father orders him to marry Callista Sheridan to create a “business” alliance, Teague’s ready to tell his dad exactly where he can stuff his millions. But then Teague actually meets his new fiancée, sees the bruises on her neck and the fight still left in her big blue eyes, and he decides he will do everything in his power to protect her.

Everyone knows the O’Malleys have a dangerous reputation. But Callie wasn’t aware of just what that meant until she saw Teague, the embodiment of lethal grace and coiled power. His slightest touch sizzles through her. The closer they get, though, the more trouble they’re in. Because Callie’s keeping a dark secret—and what Teague doesn’t know could get him killed.

Purchase Links:


“There’s always good and bad, all mixed together.”
“Exactly.” He finally looked at her, pinning her in place with his gaze. “Though I’ll admit there’s more good to this situation than I would have expected.”
Desire rose up in a tidal wave that had shivers working their way through her body. Good lord, the man knew how to turn a conversation into something else entirely with a single look. She reached for her wine again, only to find the glass empty. Keep it together, Callie. You know how to flirt.
Yes, she did. But this wasn’t harmless flirting. Nothing about Teague was harmless. He saw too much. He was an O’Malley. And, perhaps most importantly, he was going to be her husband in a very short time.
He seemed to realize her mind was going a million miles a second, because he sat back, breaking the moment. “Now I have a question for you.”
“Yes?” She put as much nonchalance into her tone as she possibly could. The candlelight played along his cheekbones and jaw, the shadows dancing over his cheeks, following a path her fingers itched to trace. What was wrong with her? She should be focusing on what their next move was, not on how intimate it was to sit this close to him.
“Would you have actually married Brendan if someone hadn’t done you the favor of offing him?”
She looked into his dark eyes and couldn’t lie. “No.” That man was a monster. She might regret the events that had brought her to that horrible strip club and put a gun into her hands, but once she knew the truth about him, she never could have signed her life away to him. And if it took her all of a week to find out what kind of man he was, Papa should have known a long time ago. She shifted, the realization sitting like a block of concrete in her stomach. Had he known and gone forward with the engagement anyway?
He must have. There was no other explanation.
“Which begs the question—are you planning on marrying me?”
It shouldn’t be different—Teague was just as much a stranger as Brendan had been. But it was different. Even knowing him such a short time, she couldn’t shake the belief that he’d never raise a hand against her. That didn’t mean she could trust him, though, unexpectedly revealing information or not. He was loyal to his family first and foremost, the same way she was.
She wanted Teague, and a part of her that didn’t have a lick of sense thought she could trust him. That, more than anything else, made him a potential threat in a way that Brendan never could have been.
“That’s quite the proposal, Teague O’Malley.”
He grinned, completely unrepentant. “I plan on making up for the lack of originality in other ways.”
It was all too easy to imagine exactly the sort of thing his tone suggested. It took her back to that alley, to that kiss, to her desire for more. Callie reached across the table and snagged his whiskey, lifting it to her lips with a shaking hand. “Yes, Teague. I’ll marry you.”

About the Author:

New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Katee Robert learned to tell her stories at her grandpa’s knee. She found romance novels at age twelve and it changed her life. When not writing sexy contemporary and speculative fiction romance novels, she spends her time playing imaginary games with her wee ones, driving her husband batty with what-if questions, and planning for the inevitable zombie apocalypse. 

My Review:
I've read quite a few of Katee Robert's books and I've enjoyed each and everyone of them but The Marriage Contract was just into a class of its own. It was intriguing, romantic, fast-paced, dangerous at times, and pretty much everything you can think of. There is something in it for everyone. The characters are amazingly charismatic and well developed and I pretty much fell in love with them from the very beginning.

Callie and Teague are quite intriguing as characters. Callie is strong and independent, or at least she tries to be, considering that she is the so called Mafia Princess. But she is also vulnerable in ways she cannot show to anyone. Even her father. After a dangerous encounter, she is in even more danger and in the span of a night, her life turns upside down. But that's how she meets Teague. He is the quiet and handsome stranger who prefers to look from the sides than being the center of attention, he is the son of one of Callie's rival families.

Teague is quite an interesting character, from one side he is kind of bookish and prefers hiding behind a book than dealing with the life that makes him feel as a prisoner. On the other side, he is handsome, a touch dominant and definitely charismatic. And it doesn't hurt that he can melt your panties with a look and a few words. He is also ready to defend his family (mainly his sisters and mother) with his life. Teague is pretty much forced into the marriage with Callie but once he meets her, sparks fly and none of them can deny the attraction and developing feelings.

In a way, Teague and Callie's love story reminds me of Romeo and Juliet, only with a happy ending. But apart from all the romance, there is suspense and danger that will keep you on your toes :) 

So in a few words, this book is everything you may want and even more. I can guarantee that you will find something you like. And I am pretty sure that you will get hooked into the stories of the other characters. Just as I was. I simply can't wait to find out what will happen next :)


No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...